Kyo Chon Fried Chicken

KyoChon

There seems to be a myriad of Korean fried chicken aka “KFC” places popping up all over the place lately.  Everywhere where I turn, I see a Bon Chon or Kyo Chon or BBQ Chicken in every major city, except for San Francisco proper.  Although I must give a shout out to the closest Bon Chon to me, since it’s in Sunnyvale and owned by a friend of mine from college.  I only wish it was a little closer though, because I never find myself down that way anymore.

 

Getting Ready to Order

Anyways, Pdho and I were walking along 5th Avenue close to K-Town in Manhattan and saw both a Bon Chon and a Kyo Chon a couple buildings from each other on the same block.  Since Kyo Chon is the only one I hadn’t tried before, I was curious to check it out.  I have to give points to the interior design of the Kyo Chon.  It’s completely white with accents of red throughout giving it a very bright and modern feel.  This particular location doubles as a sit down restaurant with a separate dinner menu that is served on the second floor, but during the day it is just like any other fast food place.

 

Honey Chicken Wings

I had a little trouble deciphering the menu, and since Pdho and I only wanted a snack, we decided to just get the chicken wings to share.  Considering how long it took them to prepare the chicken in the back, the wings tasted surprisingly lukewarm, not as hot and crispy as I was hoping.  The flavor was good, but I am not sure I would be able to differentiate the sauce at Kyo Chon from the sauce at Bon Chon.  They both tasted good, but I might have to do a side by side comparison to really be able to judge the chicken fairly.  Because the chicken didn’t taste as fresh out of the fryer as it probably should have, it is hard to say that the chicken was anything but average.  However, I’m definitely open to going back and giving it another try.

 

Kyo Chon
319 5th Ave
New York, NY 10016

PAFO Ratings for Kyo Chon:
Price $½
Ambiance 3½ stars
Food 3 stars
Overall rating 3 stars

4 Comments Add yours

  1. TE says:

    Kyochon is an automatic 5 stars… Please review again. Trust TE on this. Just get the original and the Hot (though it is VERY HOT). I ate 28 wings the last time I went. It’s that damn good!!! Whatever you do, never order any of the other shit. Most of it sucks. Just stick to fried chicken and radishes.

    You actually don’t want the chicken steaming hot. You can taste the meat better after it cools down.

  2. Docndo says:

    Kyo Chon’s chicken has become anemic over the years. There’s more meat on fobby little ktown girls than on Kyo Chon’s chicken. BBQ USA is much better in this regard.

    1. TE says:

      Anyone who likes BBQ Chicken better than Kyochon is as rational or intelligent as someone who:
      A) Thinks Tyler Perry movies are good (black women excluded)
      B) thinks philadelphia sushi rolls are delicious
      C) Thinks Kim Kardashian’s marriage was real
      D) All of the above and thinks that Charlie Sheen has never done drugs
      Apparently someone out there is also into underage, fobby K-town whores. Thanks for not going to Kyochon… that’s one less moron I don’t have to wait behind

  3. TE says:

    Anyone who likes BBQ Chicken better than Kyochon is as rational or intelligent as someone who:

    A) Thinks Tyler Perry movies are good (black women excluded)

    B) thinks philadelphia sushi rolls are delicious

    C) Thinks Kim Kardashian’s marriage was real

    D) All of the above and thinks that Charlie Sheen has never done drugs

    Apparently someone out there is also into underage, fobby K-town whores. Thanks for not going to Kyochon… that’s one less moron I don’t have to wait behind!

Leave a Reply

