Taiwanese Lunch Box in KTown

Bian Dang

The first time I had tried food from Bian Dang, it was served from a food truck and called NYC Cravings, but fast forward a couple of years, and this fledging food business now called Bian Dang has also set up shop in a brand new food court in the heart of Koreatown.  There are a collection of fast food fronts serving a variety of foods from across the Asian continent.  Although the food from the other places were tempting me, I wanted to revisit the tasty meal I had shared with Ckoh and Mkoh and share it with Pdho.

Before I get to the food, I was really fascinated by this new food court called the Food Gallery.  It was brand spanking new and looked so clean and modern that I literally thought I was in Taiwan or Japan.  It was hard to imagine such a place catering to Asians in Midtown Manhattan.

 

Taiwanese Style Fried Pork Chop Over Rice

This time around, I decided to try the fried pork chop which ended up tasting okay but not great.  I was worried it might be dry, but it actually was quite succulent.  Unfortunately, it wasn’t that well-seasoned so it tasted like oily meat.  The ground pork sauce was tasty and the pickled mustard greens added a tanginess to the dish which I thought was a little overpowering.  I still enjoyed it with the rice, and I think the pork sauce and greens were the best part of the dish.  Sadly, it didn’t live up to the tasty meal I had before.  The flavors just didn’t feel complementary.

I was a little bit disappointed by the food, but it wasn’t awful.  At $8 for the plate, it’s still a pretty good bargain.  It’s an even better deal at $10 for the combination which gives you a drink and dumplings, but I realized it too late and the lady wouldn’t give it to me.  They lose some points, because the lady was being a biatch about it.  Nevertheless, it’s not something I would put on the “must try” list, but I was happy to discover the Food Gallery.

 

Bian Dang
11 W 32nd St.
New York, NY 10001

PAFO Ratings for Bian Dang:
Price $½
Ambiance 3 stars
Food 3 stars
Overall rating 2½ stars

One Comment Add yours

  1. Docndo says:

    That doesn’t look like no Taiwanese pai ku I’ve ever eaten. Why is it so saucy?

Leave a Reply

