Sugar Sweet Sunshine

After hearing that I had gone to Magnolia Bakery, Ckoh suggested that I check out Sugar Sweet Sunshine Bakery which supposedly serves better cupcakes.  Despite the fact that its location made for a rather inconvenient destination, I was thoroughly intrigued and wanted to check it out.  So fortuitously enough, after our lunch at DBGB in Lower East Side, we were only a hop, skip and a jump away from Sugar Sweet Sunshine Bakery.

I’ve said it many times, and those that know me, recognize this to be true…. I’m really not a sweets person.  However, every so often, I do get a random craving for something sweet, and it is usually just a handful of things.  Glazed donuts, Nestle Crunch and Kit Kat mini bars, various flavors of gelato and sorbet and cupcakes come to mind.  So I was quite excited when we arrived at the bakery and not only saw no line, but there was a whole slew of colorful cupcakes on display inside a very cozy and humble looking cupcake shop.

 

Sunshine Cupcakes

Unfortunately, I can’t remember what other flavors were on display because I really only like Vanilla cupcakes.  Although I will eat other ones (except for anything chocolate-based) I like it simple… vanilla cake with vanilla frosting, so in this case, it was the Sunshine cupcake for me.  The rainbow of colors made it looks bright and appetizing, but it was just food coloring so they all supposedly tasted the same.  Does anyone want to guess which color I chose?

 

Sunshine Cupcakes

Even though I like cupcakes with its frosting, more often than not, I end up taking off at least half of it off.  Otherwise, I end up feeling like I’m about to go into sugar shock.  Although the frosting was still on the sweet side, it wasn’t overwhelming so.  It was just enough sugar to accent to the noticeably moist consistency of the cake.  I can definitely see why people say the cupcakes here are better.  Best part of the cupcake was its $1.75 price making it much more reasonably priced than every other fancy schmancy cupcake out there.  At $2.75, I used to think that Magnolia Bakery was overpriced, but then all these trendy places like Sprinkles and Kara’s Cupcakes charge even more.

 

Sign Outside Shop

Overall,  I really liked the cupcakes from here, but aside from the taste, I really think it was the fact that Sugar Sweet Sunshine Bakery seemed untouched by the masses.  I think that is the most annoying part of Magnolia Bakery.  There always seems to be a line making it seem like the cupcakes are god’s greatest gift to sweet tooths, and although the cupcakes aren’t bad, they really aren’t that great either.  I’m sure Sugar Sweet Sunshine Bakery isn’t as much on the down low as I might be making it out to be, but it is definitely worth giving some praises for serving some really tasty cupcakes.

 

Sugar Sweet Sunshine
126 Rivington St #1
New York, NY 10002

PAFO Ratings for Sugar Sweet Sunshine:
Price $
Ambiance 2 stars
Food 3½ stars
Overall rating 3½ stars

Leave a Reply

