Pho from Kevin’s Noodle House

Pho Huynh Hiep aka Kevin’s Noodle House

I pretty much gave up any hope of finding a good beef pho place in San Francisco.  I feel fortunate to have discovered Turtle Tower which serves some fine tasting chicken pho, but there’s a heartiness to beef pho that I yearn for and have yet to really find in SF.  I go back to the OC often enough to get my fix, but since it’s getting later in my pregnancy, I haven’t been back in some time.  Since we happened to be running some errands in the Sunset on this particular Saturday, I did a quick Yelp search to find a good Vietnamese place for lunch.  We found a couple of places which seemed highly rated, but we settled on Pho Huynh Hiep aka Kevin’s Noodle House, mainly because we found parking in front pretty easily.  The restaurant is relatively clean and rather spacious by SF standards, and we thankfully, didn’t have to wait long since we had arrived on the earlier side of lunch.

Pho Dac Biet

I was really craving pho today, so my appetite got the best of me, and I ordered a medium sized bowl of Pho Dac Biet.  I’m all about the pure taste of the broth without any of the extra mints and sauces, and I have to say that I was quite satisfied with the rich beef flavor and mix of herbs that make up the complexity of the broth.  The various cuts of beef including the beef meatballs come plentiful in the big bowl which only ends up running you $6.75.

Rice Plate Special

I always like the rice plates, because it comes with a variety of things and in this case, there was grilled pork chops, chinese sausage and fried shrimp cake.  The fried shrimp cake is always my favorite and it surprisingly didn’t disappoint.  The shrimp meat was flavorful and the outer crispy wrapper was hot and crunchy.  The grilled pork was equally good.

All in all, I was pretty satisfied with the food.  The pho was definitely one of the better ones that I’ve had up here in the Bay Area, and the rice plate was also above average.  The best part of the restaurant and what actually does remind me of the restaurants in Little Saigon is how inexpensive the food was.  The total check for the meal was under $15.

Pho Huynh Hiep (Kevin’s Noodle House)
1833 Irving St.
San Francisco, CA 94122

PAFO Ratings for Pho Huynh Hiep (Kevin’s Noodle House):
Price $
Ambiance 2½ stars
Food 3½ stars
Overall rating 3½ stars

Leave a Reply

