Can Solé en Barcelona

Can Solé Menu
Can Solé Menu

The moment I step on Spanish soil, I start to crave paella, so I immediately tried to find a good place where I could enjoy it while I was in Barcelona. Many places were full and we ended up with a 9pm reservation at Can Solé. It’s a cozy, little restaurant just off the main street that runs along the beach front.

Croquettes
Croquettes

While I waited for my co workers to join me, I ordered these croquettes which were filled with JABUGO Parma ham and foie gras. Although it sounded good, I have to admit that the foie gras flavor was a little overpowering. The liver taste was a little more distinct. As soft in consistency as foie gras already is, I should have known better than to order it in croquettes where the ingredients end up being even softer and mushier.

Seafood Paella
Seafood Paella

The paella was solid. I can’t say it was the best I’ve ever had, but it definitely satisfied my craving. There wasn’t as much seafood as I would have liked, but generally speaking the flavors were good, the rice was cooked well, and the seafood was fresh.

Seafood Paella and Me
Seafood Paella and Me

Considering there were 3 of us, we didn’t seem to have much food, but considering the size of that paella pan, I think we had more than enough. If you’re in Barcelona looking for an intimate seafood restaurant serving a variety of dishes including paella as well other nautical options, I would definitely consider Can Solé. I think the fact that it is a little bit tucked away probably limits the potential for crowds.

Can Solé
Carrer de Sant Carles, 4
08003 Barcelona, Spain

PAFO Ratings for Can Solé:
Price $$$½
Ambiance 3 stars
Food 3½ stars
Overall rating 3½ stars

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

