Chubby Noodle

Chubby Noodle, on the name alone, captured my interest a couple years back when it first “popped” on to the SF food scene, but given its somewhat inconvenient location in North Beach, I never really got around to checking it out.  It wasn’t until I had heard that they were opening a full restaurant (in contrast to its back of the Amante bar location) in the Marina that I decided it probably was pretty good enough to get to the point of expansion.

As I’ve probably said in other entries, it’s a little harder to keep up with my blog, so I’ve turned to finding ways that I can more easily capture my continuing (although admittedly less frequent) eating excursions.  This mainly means more dependence on my iPhone and iPad and the numerous apps that come on these devices to make chronicling life so much more immediate. This aligns with my acceptance that my Twin Tornadoes have changed my life but I still strongly believe that my life doesn’t have to completely change because of my children.

Now on to the food…..

20140627-022422-8662425.jpg
From Left to Right Clockwise: Spicy Garlic Noodles, Fried Chicken Tenders, Spicy Pork Fried Rice, and Salt and Pepper Shrimp

Generally speaking, the food at Chubby Noodle can simply be described as Asian-influenced bar food.  It’s a tad salty and little too oily, and I suppose that is largely because its expected to be washed down with plenty of beer, but at the same time, it’s packed full of flavor and mainly spiciness based on the dishes that we ordered.  The only thing that didn’t set my taste buds on fire was the Chicken Tenders, but they were extremely juicy and fresh out of the fryer so I still burned my tongue.  My favorite dish was probably the Spicy Pork Fried Rice.  Although it was not as good as other kimchee fried rices I have had, it was still quite tasty as its own incarnation, oiliness aside.  The Spicy Garlic Noodles were saucier and infused with a few too many jalapenos, but it was one of those dishes thattasted so good that you endured the stinging in your mouth as you reached for more.  The Salt and Pepper Shrimps were the most disappointing of the quartet.  Not that it they tasted bad but more because the salt and pepper flavor seemed so boring in contrast to everything else, and even more so because the rice bowl sized portion for over $10 did not speak to value.

All in all, I liked the food. It’s a little bit of a random location being located inside a bar, and not being the nicest of bars, but it wouldn’t deter me from coming back. If anything, it probably intrigues me to go try the sit down restaurant in the Marina, which is currently in soft opening, but I’ll give it a couple of months.

Chubby Noodle
570 Green St
San Francisco, CA 94133

PAFO Ratings for Chubby Noodle:
Price $$
Ambiance 2½ stars
Food 3½ stars
Overall rating 3½ stars

Leave a Reply

