Volt’s Dining Imprint

Being a fan of Top Chef, I am always looking forward to trying the food of any Cheftestant who ends up opening a restaurant. Over two years ago, when I was still pregnant, I actually went to Ink in West Hollywood. I wasn’t experiencing a lot of morning sickness, but the pregnancy still put a malaise on my taste buds and appetite, so I don’t recall being that impressed with the meal at least not as much as the impression I got from the chef himself, Top Chef winner, Michael Voltaggio. I still felt it was worth capturing in pictures, but for real details, I would direct my readers to my sister’s review on Overworked, Underfed.

As a whole, the meal had some high notes, but there were a few dishes that kind of missed the mark.  I think the most memorable  part of the meal was being able to meet the chef himself at the end of the night.  We had a pretty late reservation, so by the time we were done with the meal, he had come out from behind the kitchen and looked to be chatting it up with guests in the dining room.  As usual, my sister and I went back and forth on whether we should go up to him or not. My brother and Pdho kept prodding us on, telling us to go up to him, not that either of them seem interested.  So of course, I made the approach and he so very kindly obliged and agreed to take a picture with us.  He introduced himself to all of us and chatted up with us for a good couple of minutes.  We all agreed how EXTREMELY nice he seemed, very much unlike the persona that was portrayed on TV.  He asked how we enjoyed the meal and told how he has working the line every night as long as he isn’t out of town for work or anything.  He really seemed sincere and humble, and we all walked out feeling even more satisfied by our meal just by those few friendly minutes with the Chef.

My Sister and I with Michael Voltaggio
Overworked and I with Michael Voltaggio
Chef Voltaggio in the Kitchen
Shishito Peppers – House-shaved bonito and tofu mustard
Crab Roll – Charred avocado, whipped fish sauce and mushroom chicharron
Brussels Sprouts – Pig ear, apple and lardo
Spaghetti – Giant squid, squash, and hazelnut pesto
Beef Tartare – Hearts of palm, sea bean chimichurri, horseradish, rye
Salmon – Charred cucumber, cedar leaf, daikon radish
Octopus with Ink Shells – Young fennel, pimenton
Poutine – Chickpea fries, yogurt curds, lamb neck gravy
Pork Tenderloin – Charcoal oil, young leeks, macaroni and cheese
Steak Frites – Beef skirt, potato, flavors of Bernaise
Apple – Caramel, burnt wood ice cream
Chocolate – Coffee ice cream, sesame cake


Ink
8360 Melrose Ave., Suite 107
Los Angeles, CA 90069

PAFO Ratings for Ink:
Price $$½
Ambiance 3 stars
Food 3 stars
Overall rating 3½ stars

Leave a Reply

