Shack Full of Lobsters

I forget exactly how I stumbled upon this place, but it has definitely become my go-to place for a casual meal whenever I’m in the area, which admittedly is not that often. I really do love Lobster Rolls, and I can’t say I’ve ever met one I didn’t love. So I think I was coming to this place with high expectations. It’s probably worth noting that this restaurant has quite an extensive menu that expands across land and sea. Not only do they offer numerous other seafood dishes, but there are BBQ meat options as well.

Maine Lobster Roll

Like I said, I probably walked in ready to love this Lobster Roll and it didn’t disappoint. Some may not like this preparation because it was a little heavier on the mayo, but I didn’t have a problem with it. There was plenty of juicy lobster meat to enjoy.  They do offer a naked version where the mayo comes on the side, so this might be a good option to consider.

Fried Calamari

No one should be surprised that I had to give the Fried Calamari a test drive.  It was pretty good.  The batter wasn’t too heavy and calamari was plentiful.

Red Lobster Chowder

Unfortunately, I don’t remember much about the Lobster Chowder.  I’m sure it was good, but it obviously wasn’t memorable.  I’ve actually been back a couple of times and haven’t really through twice about ordering the chowder again.  Maybe I will consider the traditional New England version some time in the future.

I would definitely recommend coming here if you ever have a hankering for Lobster Rolls.  Although the portion isn’t that big (but let’s be honest, it is hard to find big portions of Lobster Rolls anywhere), it really does taste good.  With such an expansive menu, I’ve been curious to go back and try some of the other seafood dishes and particularly the Lobster Mac & Cheese, but it isn’t often that I’m in the area.

Old Port Lobster Shack
851 Veterans Blvd.
Redwood City, CA 94063

PAFO Ratings for Old Port Lobster Shack:
Price $$½
Ambiance 3 stars
Food 3½ stars
Overall rating 3½ stars

Leave a Reply

