Japa-Italian Culinary Crossroad

I rarely eat anywhere off the Strip when I’m in Las Vegas, but I also never had a local food guide in the form of Big Guy who introduced me to Trattoria Nakamura Ya. It’s a Japanese-Italian restaurant located in a small little strip mall in Chinatown about 10 minutes from the Strip. Truth be told, I went to this place a looooong time ago, but I enjoyed the food so much, I thought it was worth writing up.

Appetizers
Appetizers (Left Clockwise): Trio of Bruschetta, Fried Oysters, and Escargots

Unfortunately, I cannot remember exactly what were the appetizers that we ordered, but they were solid albeit not totally memorable. I think the Bruschetta Trio was the most interesting of the three, because it was a Japanese take on a very typical Italian starter.

Uni Tomato Cream Pasta
Uni Tomato Cream Pasta

This dish was absolutely delicious! I loved the creaminess imparted by the uni and tomato combination, but it was simultaneously notable how subtle the uni was. I’ve had a couple different takes on this uni pasta dish, and this was definitely one of the best in terms of taste but also in terms of seeming to minimize the caloric impact.

Kurabota Pork Sausage Risotto
Kurabota Pork Sausage Risotto

This dish was equally tasty, but it probably didn’t have the same complexity of flavors. I liked the pork sausages, but they tasted exactly like the same ones I buy from the Asian market. Similar to the pasta, I felt like there was a lightness and finesse in the execution of this dish that made you feel like it wasn’t as heavy as what the Italian version would normally taste.

I would definitely recommend making a trip to this restaurant if you’re ever looking to venture away from the mega hotels along Las Vegas Blvd. It is a total contrast from the scene on the Strip, and not only is there an authenticity to the cuisine, but it also is very easy on the pocket book.

Trattoria Nakamura-Ya
5040 W Spring Mountain Rd, Suite 5
Las Vegas, NV 89146

PAFO Ratings for Trattoria Nakamura-Ya:
Price $$½
Ambiance 3 stars
Food 4 stars
Overall rating 4 stars

Leave a Reply

