ChickenShack Comes to Brooklyn

Introducing the Chicken Shack

I’ve always preferred chicken sandwiches over hamburgers so when I read that Shake Shack was testing out their new fried chicken sandwich, my interest was immediately piqued and I set about planning a visit during my next trip to NYC.  I was slightly disappointed when I found out it was only being served in their Brooklyn locations, but it turns out most of the locations were quite accessible via the subway and the location on Fulton St. happened to be in my old neighborhood so I figured it would totally be do-able.

Lunch for One

I ordered french fries and a strawberry shake to go with my ChickenShack. To be honest, this was way more food then I needed for just myself, but the crispy fries and creamy shake definitely complemented the meal.

ChickenShack Up Close

Like the ShackBurger, the ChickenShack comes in the same brioche-like bun.  When I saw it was a chicken breast patty, I immediately assumed it was going to be healthier but that also meant it was likely going to be drier.  I was pleasantly surprised at first bite when my teeth sunk into the hot and JUICY sandwich.  The crispy outside wasn’t too oily or heavy on the batter, but it was the moistness of the chicken which really took me by surprise.  There was a subtle herbiness which I want to guess might have been rosemary that probably came from the mayo but I suspect the chicken meat was also marinaded in this as well.  It definitely lent a more refined flavor profile to the sandwich.  Personally, the pickles were a little too overpowering for my liking, but for others I think the acidity and sourness would have helped balance out the fattiness from the fried chicken.

Shake Shack Downtown Brooklyn

Some might have thought I was crazy to trek all the way across a bridge for this, and to be honest, I’m not sure I would suggest everyone to do it. However, since I used to live in the neighborhood, it actually gave me a great opportunity to walk around and check out my old haunts and see the outside of my old building. It’s a delicious take on a fried chicken sandwich, and I think it was worth it. I was also happy to see that the line was not as terrible as I’ve always seen it at the numerous other Manhattan locations. It was about a 10 minute line and 10 minute wait for my food, so considering I got there about a quarter to 1pm, I thought it was pretty good in my book.  I think if people like the ChickenShack, it is likely to expand to other locations.  I think if you had a pick between the ShackBurger and the ChickenShack, it would be hard. It’s really more a matter of preference.  I would recommend going with a friend and splitting 1 of each.  Don’t forget to add a shake and share some fries!

Shake Shack Downtown Brooklyn
409 Fulton St.
Brooklyn, NY 11201

PAFO Ratings for Shake Shack Downtown Brooklyn:
Price $½
Ambiance 3 stars
Food 3½ stars
Overall rating 3½ stars

Leave a Reply

