Dining on Danish Sandwiches

I didn’t have much of a chance to research restaurants in Copenhagen and the only place I had heard of was Noma which obviously had no availability whatsoever.  I ended up running into a colleague who happened to be on his way out to explore the city so I tagged along and we ended up having lunch at Almanak.  The menu was made up of a variety of classic Smørrebrød which are Danish open-faced sandwiches.  The dense dark sourdough rye bread serves as the foundation of the Smørrebrød and a variety of different proteins from herring to salmon to beef to chicken are highlighted atop them.

Chicken Salad

This chicken salad was seasoned with dill and tarragon and topped with a garden of greens.  It was good probably because I like chicken salad in general, but admittedly I expected a little bit more flavor, a little more tang or spice or something.

Shrimp, Eggs and Chicken Skin

I liked this sandwich a little bit more because the combination of ingredients made it more interesting. The shrimps were well-cooked.  The hard-boiled eggs lent a creaminess while the chicken skin added a nice bit of texture and crunch.  As a whole, tasted very  refreshing but I couldn’t help but feeling like it needed a little more kick.

All in all, I can’t say I’m fan of these Smørrebrød mainly because I am not a fan of the bread. I find it too hard and grainy, and although it probably is fresh, each bite keeps telling me it’s stale.  The preparation of the toppings was refined, but it tasted a little too clean.  I’m not sure if this is the Danish way.  In the future, I wouldn’t mind eating giving these sandwiches another try, because I do like the variety of toppings and I think it makes for a relatively light but filling meal.  I probably will just save myself from the extra carbs and leave the bread behind.

Alamanak
The Standard
44 Havnegade
DK-1058 Copenhagen
Denmark

PAFO Ratings for Alamanak:
Price $$½
Ambiance 3½ stars
Food 3 stars
Overall rating 3 stars

Leave a Reply

