Stumbling on Sophisticated Schnitzel

Figlmüller

If there is one thing you’re guaranteed to eat when visiting the Austrian capital, Vienna, it’s definitely going to be schnitzel.  Not only is the wiener schnitzel (which is made from veal) probably the most well-known specialty of Viennese cuisine, but it also represents the national dish of Austria.  During my few days there, I was eating some type of schnitzel almost once a day.  You would think with something as simple as deep-fried breaded meat, there wouldn’t be much variation but I would say the schnitzel at Figlmüller really was the best.  There are 2 locations in Vienna and I ended up at the newer, larger location that more recently opened to accommodate the growing popularity of this classic restaurant.  I had already had a couple of days worth of schnitzel by the time I found Figlmüller, but a couple of colleagues had mentioned it and so I figured if I came by during off hours, I might be able to get in without too much trouble. Even though it was the middle of the afternoon, the place was still busy but thankfully, I got in quite easily.

Figlmüller Schnitzel

I ordered the classic Figlmüller Schnitzel which is made from pork.  It is pounded very thinly and battered lightly but well.  I feel like the batter really is probably what makes the difference between schnitzels mainly because it can vary widely from being too heavily breaded so it soaks up a lot of oil to the other end of the spectrum where I think the Figlmüller Schnitzel sits.  It actually didn’t taste oily at all, but it definitely was a huge portion. It’s hard to see since you can’t see the plate underneath, but the entire schnitzel covered the entire surface of a 10-11 inch plate.

Tomato Salad

I think you’re supposed to order the potato salad to go with the schnitzel, but I decided to go a slightly healthier route with the tomato salad. These were fine but nothing like Italian tomatoes.

Eating in the Basement

Although I don’t know what the inside of the original location looks like, I’m sure that this location was much larger by the mere fact that there seemed to be multiple small dining areas spread out across several floors.  I ended up down in what literally was the basement of the restaurant so I had no cell service whatsoever. This was a little bit of a bummer since I was dining alone so I couldn’t even surf the web while I ate.  Although it looks rather cramp, it actually wasn’t too bad. The coziness added a little charm to the old-world character with the brick covered walls and cement ceilings.  The ambiance was kind of interesting considering this location opened in 2001.  Needless to say, I enjoyed the schnitzel here and I would recommend stopping by if you ever find yourself in Vienna.

Figlmüller Bäckerstraße
Bäckerstraße 6
1010 Vienna
Austria

PAFO Ratings for Figlmüller Bäckerstraße:
Price $$
Ambiance 2½ stars
Food 3½ stars
Overall rating 3½ stars

Leave a Reply

