Revisiting The Progress

The Progress

RFotographer and EmAyWhy invited Hubster and I to join them at The Progress.  We have been there before, but because we enjoyed the food and I suspected the menu would be different, I was up for a repeat visit.  It ended up taking me a little longer than I expected to write this dinner up, so by this time now, I can’t recall many details about the various dishes.  Suffice to say that the meal was relatively similar to my previous visits with familiar aspects in terms of concept or execution.  Having been a couple of times, I do enjoy the family style dining where all the dishes are meant to be shared, but I do think the portions are on the smaller side.  Not that I needed more food, but I can see how some people might still be hungry.  The food is good, so you do want more of it.

Starters

There were a variety of starters, and I can’t recall them all now.  They were all pretty solid.

Hog Island Sweet Water Oysters

The oysters were sweet and delicious representing a great start to the meal.

Grilled Asparagus

 

Duck Dumplings in Duck Broth

The duck flavor in the dumplings was relatively light albeit distinct.  I really would have loved this dish if it weren’t for the overpowering, and I would argue unnecessary addition of those greens. I forget what they are called.

Grilled Octopus

The octopus was perfectly grilled making this tender and tasty.  This was probably my favorite dish of the night.

Garlic Fried Rice with Crispy Butter Clams

Unlike most Asian takes on fried rice, I actually found it remarkable how the ratio of rice to accoutrements largely favored the accoutrements. The scallions, cilantro and butter clams made for a tasty combination although I found the garlic flavor to be very, very subtle.

Vanilla Ice Cream with Chocolate Dates

For some reason, I do not remember this dish at all……

Olive Oil Cake with Lemon Curd and Pickled Fennel

This was quite an interesting dessert.  It definitely had a savorier taste profile, but it was definitely my favorite.

Dinner for 4

I still enjoyed the food and the creativity behind the various dishes. Although this meal probably didn’t stand out as much for the food, it definitely was memorable for the company.
The Progress
1525 Fillmore St.
San Francisco, CA 94115

PAFO Ratings for The Progress:
Price $$$
Ambiance 3 stars
Food 3½ stars
Overall rating 3½ stars

Leave a Reply

