Looking for Parisian Meal

 

Restaurant Georgette

Hubster and I were looking for French food for dinner, but I was trying to find something different than your typical bistro fare, and we stumbled upon Restaurant Georgette after a little bit of research.  The pictures showed some interesting looking dishes and the reviews were consistently positive.  As we made our way over, I also noticed it was a little more removed from the hustle bustle but I found that to be a positive because it looked the restaurant was filled more with locals than tourists.

Oeuf Mollet à la Mousse de Chorizo

Based on my elementary translation skills, I had expected something like a deviled egg appetizer, but I was pleasantly surprised after taking a bite of what actually was a poached egg in a chorizo infused broth.  The egg was nicely cooked and lent a nice creamy backdrop for the smoky chorizo broth to stand out.  The egg didn’t taste like much so it balanced quite nicely and I particularly liked the croutons for texture.

 alt=
Ravioles de Homard, Crème de Crustacés

The lobster ravioli was deep fried and placed in a creamy bisque of shrimp and lobster and sprinkled with crunchy mini croutons.  The bisque was the absolute highlight of this dish. The infusion of lobster, in particular, in the broth was so concentrated and it tasted so buttery that you couldn’t help but want to slurp it all up.  In fact, when I was done, I decided to do as the French do and wipe my bowl clean with a couple pieces of a french baguette.

Volaille Pattes Bleues Rôtie, Purée Maison, Beurre Noisette

I am not the biggest fan of chicken mainly because there is such a high bar to making it taste delicious.  It is so hard to get hearty flavor into the meat and most of the time it ends up very dry, so one of the few times I would feel confident in ordering it would be in a French bistro.  Fortunately, I was not disappointed with Georgette’s version of a roasted chicken leg which was served with house-made mashed potatoes.

Cromesquis de Canard & Chantilly de Carotte, Huile de Truffe

Another unexpected dish mainly because cromesquis did not translate into English, but after eating it I can only describe this as a ball of duck meat coated in bread crumbs, deep-fried and placed in a sweet potato emulsion with white truffle oil.  Although it was good, I’m not sure if it is the best preparation one can do with duck.  The duck meat itself was a little dry, and you really needed to eat it with the sweet potato sauce, but I liked the crunchiness of the bread crumb coating.

Overall, I really enjoyed the meal.  I absolutely loved the ambiance of the French bistro with locals aplenty and the modern menu that seemed to push on the boundaries of casual French dining.  The food was solid and I would definitely recommend it if you’re looking to eat where few tourists may venture.

Restaurant Georgette
44 Rue d’Assas
75006 Paris
France

PAFO Ratings for Restaurant Georgette:
Price $$½
Ambiance 4 stars
Food 3½ stars
Overall rating 4 stars

Leave a Reply

