Oh Oh So Good, Ohshima

Aside from spending time with family, one of the best things about visiting the OC is eating. There is so much too choose from, and although I live in the Bay Area which really represents one of the top food centric cities in the nation, what I really find lacking there is quite readily found in Southern California. Orange County represents a small part of the food scene in Southern California, but there is never a lack in finding delicious, casual ethnic food, in particular, at a super reasonable price point. One place that serves truly excellent sushi at an embarrassingly inexpensive price is Ohshima which like many places in Southern California is located in a random strip mall in Tustin.  I truly believe that the best way to eat sushi is to sit the bar.  I can’t explain it why there is a difference, but I’ve consistently noticed that every time I sit at the table, the sushi and overall experience is never as good as when I get to sit in front of the sushi chef and salivate and wait for him to prepare each piece and place it in front of me, one piece at a time.

My lunch companions for this outing was my Mom, my sister (Overworked, Underfed) and Hubster.  This wasn’t the first time for any of us, so we all knew what was in store for us so we made sure we showed up right before it opened for lunch.

Overall, you can’t find a better bargain with the omakase lunch coming out to $40 for 10 pieces.  There is a variety of different fish with the chef preparing each one with just the right amount of seasoning whether it be soy sauce, wasabi or ginger.  No need to worry about dipping it in soy sauce. Just pop it into your mouth the moment it hits your plate. What I find even more special is the care with which the chef cuts the fish. Not only are they slicing very generous sized pieces, but they will also cut into each piece presenting such pretty looking pieces of nigiri. This is definitely one of my favorite places for sushi in Orange County, and I look forward to coming every time I come home to visit.

Sea Bream

Just look at how pretty the fish looks. It tasted just as good.

Blue Fin Tuna

Tuna is never my favorite, but this was definitely different.

Scallop

Scallop is definitely one of those selections that can go wrong, but this tasted fresh and clean.

Kampachi

Kampachi is always one of my favorites and this did not disappoint.

Sea Bass
Cherry Salmon

Not sure what makes Cherry Salmon different than regularly Salmon but this was delicious.

Gold Stripe

I have never had this before, but I really liked it.

Black Cod

One of the best pieces of the night.  It was rich and the torching of the fish gives a wonderful smokiness that makes you go “Yum” the moment you bite into it.

Snow Crab Handroll

I love the fresh crab meat and there was definitely a lot of it in that handroll.

Spanish Mackerel

Spanish Mackerel is one of my favorites as well. It doesn’t taste anything like Mackerel (saba) which can be fishier, but I really suggest trying this one in case you have an aversion to mackerel.  It’s wonderful!

Ohshima
1956 N Tustin St.
Orange, CA 92865

PAFO Ratings for Ohshima:
Price $$½
Ambiance 3 stars
Food 4½ stars
Overall rating 4½ stars

Leave a Reply

