Revisiting the Dojo of Ramen

Ramen Dojo is the one ramen place that consistently attracts unbearably long lines.  I’m sure the small space and very limited seats is a big reason, but I have to say their ramen is definitely one of the tastiest of all the ramen places in San Mateo.  There is a complex of interesting flavors including a spiciness that is subtly unique.  Even though I’ve been before, I found the ramen so delicious that it was worth blogging about it again.

Garlic Pork Ramen

Hubster likes his broth with a lot more punch of flavor, so as usual, he ordered the Garlic Pork Ramen with Mild Spicy flavor.  I definitely liked this as well, but it was far heartier than the one I ordered.

Soy Sauce Ramen

I generally like my soups relatively clean and pure but with an underlying flavor profile that is rich and savory, so I always lean toward shoyu ramen which has a soy sauce based broth.  I made it Mild Spicy to give it a little bit of a kick but it was just right.

Overall, I liked both of the ramens we ordered and there are a multitude of ingredients to add to each bowl which makes it even heartier and more filling than ramen already tends to be.  Although I’m not sure it’s worth waiting more then 20 minutes for especially when there are so many other options in San Mateo to try, I definitely do find the ramen profoundly satisfying every time I’ve been luckily blessed with a short wait.
Ramen Dojo
805 S. B St.
San Mateo, CA 94401

PAFO Ratings for Ramen Dojo:
Price $½
Ambiance 2½ stars
Food 4 stars
Overall rating 3½ stars

Leave a Reply

