Limon Expands Outside the City

I have been anxiously awaiting the opening of Limon Rotisserie ever since I saw that was coming to downtown Burlingame.  The original location is in the Mission, but when I last visited it was more ceviche without the rotisserie.  I also tried the second location which was the rotisserie incarnation that eventually took over all the locations.  The Burlingame location looked like it was doing pretty well from the get go, but we waited a couple of months and finally ended up trying it out when Auntie SHo was in town to visit the Twin Tornadoes.  Food aside, what I really appreciated about this restaurant is how friendly it is toward families.  It is Burlingame, after all, so the demographic is definitely going to be different than what you would find in SF, but the waiters were so nice to the Twin Tornadoes and they were super accommodating to our needs.  This is something you can’t underestimate especially now that I find myself dining out with toddlers more regularly.

Ceviche Mixto

I remember really liking the ceviches, and although this one wasn’t bad, it also wasn’t particularly as good as I remembered it.  The tangy acidity was a little too much without much flavor.

Rotisserie Chicken with Sweet Potato Fries

As far as rotisserie chicken goes, this is pretty solid.  The meat is moist and seasoned well, but I just don’t find it all that satisfying because it’s still just chicken.  However, the sauces, and I think we ordered the chimichurri one, is really what brings the chicken to life.  It adds so much more dimension to a relatively simple tasting roasted chicken.

Carne a la Parilla

This grilled marinaded skirt steak was served with some vegetables, mashed potatoes and a red wine aji panca demi glace.  It was not the best cut of meat so despite it being cooked well, it still was very chewy but the flavor was good.

Arroz Con Mariscos

This dish was described as Peruvian style paella, and I tried not to get my hopes up since I am a big fan of paella, but inevitably, I was a little disappointed.  The seafood was a mix of shrimps, mussels and clams and it was finished with a Chardonnay aji amarillo pimiento sauce on top.  The sauce surprisingly did not add much to the dish.  It was okay but it definitely did not satisfy my appetite. I also think the portion was a little on the small side for the price.

All in all, the food is fine even if it wasn’t as good as I remember it being at the SF locations.  Maybe that is because the food in SF might be better, but needless to say, this restaurant does pump some much needed life into the Burlingame dining scene.  So if you’re looking for some good food whether you have kids or not, this restaurant would be a great option to check out.

Limon Rotisserie
1101 Burlingame Ave.
Burlingame, CA 94010

PAFO Ratings for Limon Rotisserie:
Price $$½
Ambiance 2½ stars
Food 3 stars
Overall rating 3 stars

Leave a Reply

